A for Austen, B for Byron, C for Christie

I have been reading for as long as I can remember, and reading everything in sight. Reading, for me, went from an activity I could not let go of to an activity which just wouldn’t let go of me. I like to think at times that I, due to the, humbly put, vast experience I have with reading, can provide with apt advice to people who wish to enter the enigmatic world of literature.

The idea actually came to me when a friend of mine expressed the desire to soak in all which the literary world has to offer. In my goal of providing assistance to this particular individual realised that I could do this for multiple individuals, people who are missing out on the greatest possible activity. I don’t believe I exaggerate when I say that nothing causes me greater pain than witnessing those around me losing their footing around literature.

This is the first of many posts where I will attempt to provide assistance using whatever little knowledge I have. This week, I have decided to take on the noble objective of familiarising the unlearned with books, or the ABCs of literature if you will. The rest of this post is aimed at those willing to start the habit of reading, yet cannot due to the sheer amount of content available.

It is important to understand that reading starts at different ages. For people of a younger age, reading children’s books is a great way to start any literary pursuit. However, for the older audiences and for when the children wish to enter serious reading, I would strongly recommend starting with books which are more focussed on the story than the language.

I would strongly suggest starting with books in the Percy Jackson series. It provides a gripping story in a language which is easy to read and understand, allowing an inexperienced reader to get into the habit of reading books. The fact that is a series of books compels the reader to move onto a second book after completing the first. It’s obvious yet I feel it necessary to mention that you should start with the first book in the series, which is The Lightning Thief and follow the order as shown below.

image

Logically, the next book to read should be the first book of the Heroes of Olympus series, which is the complimentary series to the one above written by the same writer. However, I would strongly suggest moving on to the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins both to avoid the monotony of reading two similar series consecutively and to gain an experience with a series written in a very different way. Following is the order of the books:

image

The idea that I am generally trying to suggest here is that for new readers, the best route is to begin reading contemporary fantasy. The important thing to realise here is that even in contemporary fantasy, there is a sequential way to approach reading. I wouldn’t suggest reading, say, A Song of Ice and Fire this early on, but I wouldn’t say no to something along the lines of Keys to the Kingdom by Garth Nix, though I wouldn’t recommend it much due to its complicated storyline and slightly complex presentation. Do read through if you’d like, but don’t get spooked by it.

image

Irrespective of whether you go ahead and read the aforementioned series, you should definitely gear up for one of the best contemporary fantasy series I have read. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling is great for its story, and it’s creative value. It also has been written exceptionally well with increasing depth as the series progresses. However, I wouldn’t recommend jumping straight to the Harry Potter series after the Hunger Games series. In fact, this may be a good place to complete the set of Rick Riordan’s work which we left before. Starting with The Kane Chronicles series, the next and final series before the Harry Potter series should be The Heroes of Olympus. The series are presented in order of reading below:

image

image

image

Considering my target audience is new readers, I don’t expect you to be done with all these before my next post, however, if you do then I suggest that you absolutely DON’T read any fiction and continue with fantasy series such as Inkheart, Eragon or The Mortal Instruments. This is extremely important because entering the world of fiction can be tricky and it is very easy to mess up. I’d hate to see you start off with the wrong book at the wrong time or the right book at the wrong time.

I hope this post has helped and that there will be many, many more people reading books after this. Also, I do not own any of the images in this post. They have all been pulled off of Google Images. Please do get back to me with any questions or comments. Until next time, then:

“A book is a dream that you hold in your hand.”
— Neil Gaiman

2 thoughts on “A for Austen, B for Byron, C for Christie

  1. hey anirudh , this post of your’s is informative as well as provides a proper guideline to the non-readers . I whole heartedly appreciate your efforts , whatever you are doing is commendable . I hope this will encourage a lot of people to grasp the vast knowledge hidden in the deep oceans of these enigmatic works of literature . ALL THE BEST !!!!

Leave a Reply

